The evolution of the LBD 

Def: A little black dress is an evening or cocktail dress, cut simply and often quite short. Fashion historians ascribe the origins of the little black dress to the 1920s designs of Coco Chanel and Jean Patou, intended to be long-lasting, versatile, affordable, accessible to the widest market possible and in a neutral colour. Its ubiquity is such that it is often simply referred to as the “LBD”.


As you have noticed I’m not exactly the conventional fashion girl and this so not a conventional Little black dress. 


I wear high and low (mostly low because have you seen my bank account?) I’m quite an impulsive buyer so I’ll always have pieces I’ve never worn. But when I saw this quirky-in-your-face dress I knew I would wear it like a uniform until I’m sick of it. I mean it cost me R69 and I would probaly wear it every other weekend, complete value for money. Not exactly being your cookie-cutter, I like to experiment a bit. I think of it as being able to play dress-up everyday, so I paired these gold socks with my chunky heels (a wardrobe staple) instead of opting just for a pair of sneakers.


I think being creative is the best part of getting dressed…not just putting outfits together but imagining how you can wear pieces when you’re sitting on your bed with a bag of chips that you shouldn’t really be eating, browsing online or out in the mall window shopping at places you can’t afford. If I’m in a shop and I absolutely love something and I know my wallet doesn’t absolutely agree with me then I think of ways to either make it by buying material or revamping something I already have.


This look I would wear on a day-to-day basis whether I’m out shopping or going to a braai, it’s easy and laid-back and all you need to do is put on a pair of sneakers. Or like I did and on a colder day wear it as a top with some jeans and boots, easy peasy. Fashion should never be a burden it should always be fun, easy and playful! 


Shot by: Nadia Omar

   

       
   

 Shop my look:

Dress: Jet
Shoes: Daniella for Spree

Socks: Topshop

Jewelry: Forevermine jewelry & accessories 

Leave a Reply

